Kit Car Team secures local Sponsorship

Ballyclare Secondary School is delighted to have the opportunity to work on a KIT Car Project and to participate in the IET Formula 24 challenge run by the Greenpower Education Trust.  We have 10 very excited Year 11 pupils in the team who have named themselves ‘Forget Fossil’.

DSC_0181 Kit Car (Large)

Forget Fossil held a very successful event for company representatives to attend on Friday 6th March 2015 at 3.30pm. The purpose of the event was to reach out to organisations and businesses to support us with this very exciting venture. Prior to the event Forget Fossil had drawn up a wish list for potential sponsorship of items. At the meeting our pupils did a fantastic job of outlining the project and requirements, in the hope that businesses would offer manpower and/or resources to assist in building a fantastic KIT car.  We were overwhelmed with the assistance offered by local business and in fact, are delighted to say that we secured sponsorship for all of the items on our wish list at the meeting on Friday 6th March.

List of Company/Organisation Representatives on Friday 6th March 2015

Company/Organisation Representative
Chairman of Board of Governors Rev Dr McConnell
Board of Governors Eta Mann
Board of Governors Stephen Traynor
Board of Governors John Harkness
Board of Governors Andrew McConnell
Imagis Ian Simpson
Dargan Press Jordan Traynor
Wrightbus Martin Graham
Chain Reactions Fiona Dowds
Gilmore Signage Mark Cawley
PowerNI Alan Egner
Bombardier Paul Maguire
Charles Hurst Alan Thompson
Mechanical Engineering Student at UUJ Neil Martin
Ernest Hall Alastair Hall
W.J. Blair Accident Repairs Andrew Blair
Motorcycle Racer Glen Irwin
George McMillan Porsche George McMillan
City Auction Group Raymond Hill

Team Forget Fossil

Pupils Involved:  Crawford Ewing, Amy Baxter, Ellie Cooke, David McConkey, Kyle Barr, Adam Elliott, Jack Patterson, Joshua Bell, Joshua Bell, Joshua Bell, Jack Keery, Kent Gill (Adviser).                                                                    

Teaching Staff Involved:- Mrs Bell (Principal), Mrs Shingleton, Mr Houston, Mrs Beattie, Mr Beckington, Miss McShane, Miss Flanagan, Mr Hill, Mr White, Mr Graham, Miss Stevenson.

Please visit for more information.