House System

In Ballyclare Secondary there are four different houses, Collin, Ollar, Lindsay and McConnell.  Pupils compete in different house events throughout the year and earn points for their houses through attendance, work in the community, academic excellence, contribution to school life and endeavor.

Current House points

Coming soon.


History of the House System

The idea of the house system was created shortly after the school opened in 1961.  At this point there were only two houses McConnell and Lindsay.  These two houses were named after two members of the schools Board of Governors,  Alec McConnell from Doagh and John Lindsay from Templepartick.    In later years, as the school grew in size, Collin (named after the scenic landmark ‘the Collin’) and Ollar (which was the original name for the Six Mile River) were added to the house system.