skip to content

GCSE Mathematics

All pupils sit the GCSE in mathematics.  (details below)

There is the option of Further Mathematics as a separate subject at GCSE please see the specific page on the tabs to your right.

Some pupils are also offered the chance to do OCN Entry Level 1, 2 and 3. On completion of this course, they will then complete OCN Level 1 Essential Skills in Application of Number if appropriate. Students will also continue to complete Foundation GCSE.

GCSE Mathematics

The specification has two tiers: Foundation and Higher. Each tier offers students a choice of units suited to a range of abilities, allowing them to demonstrate achievement. The assessment model enables students to monitor their progress and offers opportunities to improve their results.


Our GCSE Mathematics is unitised, so it’s possible to take part of the assessment before the end of the course.

The specification has eight units, four at Foundation Tier and four at Higher Tier:

  • Unit M1: Foundation Tier
  • Unit M5: Foundation Tier Completion Test
  • Unit M2: Foundation Tier
  • Unit M6: Foundation Tier Completion Test
  • Unit M3: Higher Tier
  • Unit M7: Higher Tier Completion Test
  • Unit M4: Higher Tier
  • Unit M8: Higher Tier Completion Test.

Students choose one option from the two available at either Foundation or Higher Tier. They must take two units, one of which must be a completion test.

Website proudly built by Platform
cross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram